“follow me” & trust

plowToday’s readings spoke directly to me.  In the first reading (1 Kgs 19:16b, 19-21), Elijah (directed by the Lord) called Elisha to follow and succeed him as a prophet to the people.  Elisha recognized God’s call and left his life, sacrificed (literally), and did God’s will wholeheartedly, knowing a prophet’s life is miserable (but the retirement benefits are out of this world).

Then, in the Gospel reading (Lk 9:51-62), some disciples tell Jesus, “I will follow you wherever you go.”  (–easier said than done)  When some start to hesitate, Jesus reminds them, “… go and proclaim the kingdom of God.”  They declare they’re willing, but don’t give up their old lives to respond to the call.  Jesus sums up with “No one who sets a hand to the plow and looks to what was left behind is fit for the kingdom of God.”

I need some clarification here!  The basic message seems to be the first commandment, “trust God wholeheartedly without reservations.”  But the fine print seems blurry.  How “blindly” are we to follow “God’s will.”  It seems to be a extremist’s motto.  It’s demanding, unquestionable and instantaneous.  Where’s the discernment process?

As we discern God’s will for the “big” things in our lives, like choosing a vocation to the priesthood, religious life, marriage or the single life, hearing the call is difficult.  I guess that’s why discernment takes so long.  But how do you know when you have an answer or final decision that has God’s hologram stamp?  I’ve heard that some who become priests still have doubts, even after a 6-9 year discernment process.  Some closure would be the least you could get for a lifelong commitment.  — Is it just me?

  1. Texas sister
    July 3, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Let me know when you get some clarification on that…because I feel lost too. How do I know if I am answering his call? And how do I know where to go? Thats where I am right now. Its really been a big thought in my mind lately…especially as I pray on whether or not I am living in the right place and where do I go next. I began to get discouraged the other night, but then on Sunday as I was watching tv and flipping channels I caught the end of a Joel Olsteen message and it was what I needed to hear. It was about trusting God to do his perfect plan for our lives..not our plan. I wish I knew what scriptures he used..but it was great. Well, I guess what I also wanted to say was thanks for sharing your thoughts on that..its nice to know that you have those thoughts also.
    love you

  2. catholickermit
    July 6, 2007 at 12:16 am

    I put some further thoughts into a blog entry today @ https://catholickermit.wordpress.com/2007/07/05/happy-is-gods-will/

  3. March 27, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Just saw what you wrote and thought you might like this song! Check it out at http://www.famecast.com/contest/stage_top10.php?stage_id=47&round_id=222&artist_id=1648

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

