Home > 01 ME, 04 VOCATIONS, IPF, prayer, priesthood, SEMINARY LIFE > leaving seminary formation

leaving seminary formation

Over the last two years in seminary formation at St John Vianney College Seminary, I have been gifted with the opportunity and tools to help in my discernment of a vocation to the priesthood.  The support, encouragement and growth were especially evident in my summer assignment at the Institute for Priestly Formation (IPF) in Omaha, NE.  My summer was graced with regular spiritual direction, tools in deepening prayer, an 8-day Ignatian Silent Retreat, apostolic work in hospital pastoral service, courses on sexuality, diocesan priestly spirituality and liturgy, and the fellowship of brother seminarians from around the country.

Throughout my summer experience at IPF, I spend considerable time in serious prayer and discernment with a gifted spiritual director that helped me recognize an intimacy with the Lord that brought overwhelming joy and peace.  I came to realize that my journey with the Lord at this point in my life would call for leaving seminary formation in order to pursue stronger desires of my heart.  This decision, when brought to prayer over some time, has come with a confidence in the Holy Spirit that radiates peace in my heart.

I know this news comes with some sadness from the Archdiocese of Miami for losing a seminarian, but know that I will continue discerning the Lord’s plan for me in all that I do.  I wish to express the deepest gratitude to Archbishop Favalora and the Archdiocese of Miami for their prayer, support, attention, tools and opportunity to discernment a vocation to the priesthood.  Thank you and know I will continue to support vocations and sharing my own faith journey to others encouraging the Body of Christ to discern their own unique roles to grow the Kingdom of God.

  1. John W. O'Neill
    December 28, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I came across your blog awhile ago. I don’t remember how I originally found it, but I kept coming back. There is something about a seminarian who uses Kermit the frog as a role model that intrigued me.

    I, too, left the seminary. I was 33 years old, had been there for two months and realized that it was not working out for me. I returned to my career as a Mechanical Engineer and I am now the Chairman of the Board of a right to life organization and I am serving on the Boards of two other Catholic organizations.

    I hope that you find God’s calling in your life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

