Home > Apostalic Work, catechesis, CCD, religious education, prayer > CCD + BAPTiSM + 5 finger prayer

CCD + BAPTiSM + 5 finger prayer

Tonight’s CCD class (religious education) was on “Prayer.”  We used a PowerPoint slide show I made a couple years ago to profile the different types of prayer.  I used an acronym I made up using BAPTiSM:

B A P T i S M =

B = Blessing (to invoke God’s power for a person, place or activity)
A = Adoration (the “created” before the Creator)
P = Praise (glorify God)
T = Thanksgiving (gratitude)
i = Intercession (I ask God for OTHERS) + Petition (I ask God for ME)
S = “Sorry” (ask for forgiveness)
M = Meditation (tuning into God)

 

When discussing Intercession, I suggested using the “5 Finger Prayer” that I personally like using:

5 FINGER PRAYER =

Thumb – Pray for those nearest you such as your family, parents, siblings, spouse, children, friends and co-workers.

Pointing Finger – Pray for those who instruct, heal and minister such as teachers, health care professionals, pastors and church workers.

Middle/Highest Finger – Pray for leaders in business, police and fire departments, military personnel, and local, state and federal government including the judiciary.

Fourth/Weakest Finger – Pray for those sick and in need, locally, nationally and internationally including the persecuted church and those who have suffered natural and man-made disasters.

Fifth/Smallest Finger – Pray for your needs.

  1. October 8, 2008 at 4:19 am

    That’s a great acronym. I’ve always been stuck with only the A, P, T and I. Will definitely use it in my ministry, although perhaps with one minor change. The Eucharist as I’ve learnt is the highest form of prayer, so I will change the M for Mass.

  2. October 10, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    The Mass incorporates ALL the different forms of prayer: Blessing, Adoration, Praise, Thanksgiving, Intercession, Petition, Forgiveness, and Meditation. I agree, it is the highest form of prayer, but it’s not only limited to one prayer type.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment