Home > bishop, prayer, SEMINARY LIFE, SJVCS grounds, special events > new mosaic of Mary, the New Eve and Star of the Sea

new mosaic of Mary, the New Eve and Star of the Sea

090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-16-AWESOMEFor the last couple of years, Msgr Michael Carruthers (rector of SJVCS) and Peter Dionne (artist & seminarian, SJVCS class of 2008) have been working on a new mosaic to our Blessed Mother for the chapel gardens.  With today’s dedication of the new mosaic to Mary, the New Eve and Star of the Sea, here are some pictures posted by Fr Michael from mosaic conception through completion.

Wow!  Beautiful!  Surely our Lady is happy.

Also see dedication ceremony here.

Consecration prayer to Mary here.

090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-02-in-2006 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-04-sketch-by-Peter 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-06-workers-Peter-Dionne-and-Msgr-Michael-Carruthers 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-08-work-projection 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-09-mosaic-tiles-waves 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-10-mosaic-sunburst 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-11-mosaic-breath-of-God 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-12-workers-Michelle-and-Peter 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-13-install-Gustavo-and-Raphael 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-15-installing 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-19-finished 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-17-AWESOME 090924_SJVCS-Mosaic-of-Mary-18-AWESOME

  1. Anonymous
    July 28, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Michelle Jarvis is so good at mosaics wow!

  2. Anonymous
    August 20, 2012 at 12:59 am

    Hi.. My name is Michelle Jarvis..I am the artist who met Peter Dione at Our Saviours Catholic Church in Cocoa Beach, Florida..I had been designing and creating the mosaics on the Pillars for the grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes over the coarse of several years..When I met Peter he asked me if I would do some mosaics at the seminary.. I was hired to do the mosaics after a Divine Mercy Miracle that Peter and I experienced together.. The Holy Spirit must always get credit for His work.. and he was working hard for Peter and I.. I worked on the mosaics for the star of the Sea for an entire year by myself.. I am a single parent with 3 wonderful kids.. I delivered and put up the mosaics with the help of Mark Hall, Peter, and 3 workers.. Father Carruthers has been over seeing the project and is a very talented person also.. For future work I can be reached at (321) 794-4078. I thought I’d mention that I had told Peter about your web sight and how much I have enjoyed it over the last few months..especially the incorruptables..the three Saints that have been instamental in the project, St John Vianney (where the mosaic was hung, and Mass was celebrated in his honor with the new seminarians on the date the mosaic was delivered this Aug), St. Bernadete in the mosaic grotto..and St. John Bosco, who inspired the grotto Pillars depicting the mysteries of the rosary. Thank You for EYE Candy Catholic and my God continue to Bless all the new future Priests at St. John Vianneys

  3. July 30, 2023 at 11:57 am

    Nice blog you haave

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment